Badminton Asia Championships 2023: Sindhu, Srikanth reach second round; Lakshya knocked out

PV Sindhu on Wednesday advanced to the second round of the 2023 Badminton Asia Championships in Dubai.

Sindhu, who won a bronze medal in the previous edition in 2022, defeated Chinese Taipei’s Su Wen Chi 21-15, 22-20 to make it to the last 16. The eighth seeded Indian will next face Han Yu of China.

Commonwealth Games bronze medalist women’s doubles pair of Trisa Jolly and Gayatri Gopichand came from behind to beat Indonesia’s Lani Triya Mayasari and Rebekah Sugiarto 17-21, 21-17, 21-18 in a match that lasted more than an hour. Defeated.

Rohan Kapoor and Sikki Reddy also won their opening round match of mixed doubles when they beat Malaysian pair of Chan Peng Soon and Cheah Yee Si 21-12, 21-16.

Kidambi Srikanth comfortably beat Bahrain’s Adnan Ibrahim 21-13, 21-8 to set up a second round clash with fourth seed Japanese Kodai Naroka. However, Commonwealth Games gold medalist Lakshya Sen lost 7-21, 21-23 to former world champion Loh Kean Yew of Singapore.

Up against world number one Japan’s Akane Yamaguchi, promising Malvika Bansod took the star player ahead before losing 23-25, 19-21 in a 46-minute battle.

HS Prannoy registered a 21-14, 21-9 win against Myanmar’s Phon Pyare Naing, while men’s doubles pair of Satwiksairaj Rankireddy-Chirag Shetty beat Malaysia’s Tan Qian Meng and Tan Wee Kiong 21-14, 21-17.

(With inputs from PTI)

Result (First Round)

men’s singles

[8] hs pranay bt phone dear ning (MYA) 21-14, 21-9; Kidambi Srikanth b Adnan Ibrahim (BAH) 21-13, 21-8; [7] Loh Kean Yew (SGP) bt Lakshya Sen 21-7, 23-21

women’s singles

[8] PV Sindhu beat Hsu Wen Chi (TPE) 21-15, 22-20; [1] Akane Yamaguchi (JPN) bt Malvika Bansod 25-23, 21-19; Komang Ayu Cahya Dewi (INA) bt Aakarshi Kashyap 21-6, 21-12

men’s doubles

[6] Satwiksairaj Rankireddy/Chirag Shetty bt Tan Qian Meng/Tan Wee Keong (May) 21-14, 21-17; [4] Takuro Hoki/Yugo Kobayashi (JPN) bt Krishna Prasad Garaga/Vishnuvardhan Goud Panjala 21-15, 21-17; Man Wei Chong/Kai Wun Tee (MAY) bt PS Ravikrishna/Sankar Prasad Udayakumar 21-12, 21-17; [8] Ong Yew Sin/Teo Yee Yee (May) bt MR Arjun/Dhruv Kapila 12-21, 21-16, 21-12

female couple

Tressa Jolly/Gayathri Gopichand bt Lani Triya Mayasari/Rebekah Sugiarto (INA) 17-21, 21-17, 21-18; Melissa Trias Puspitasari/Rachel Alesya Rose (INA) bt Ashwini Bhat K./Shikha Gautam 20-22, 21-12, 21-18; Jongkolphan Kititharakul/Ravinda Prajongjai (Thailand) bt Harita Manjhiyil H./Aashna Roy 21-11, 21-2

mixed doubles

Rohan Kapoor/Sikki Reddy bt Chan Peng Soon/Cheeh Yee Si (May) 21-12, 21-16